Butterick 4818

Butterick4818-front

Butterick4818-back

Ca. 1968

I’ve had this pattern for a while – but have yet to make it or really check it out. I know I got it b/c I fell in love with the neck detail. Since I got iced out of work (work got cancelled due to weather) I decided I wanted to sew – I had wanted to work a different pattern – but did not have enough of this fabric to make it. So I think spent at least 2 hours looking through patterns. After a lot of back and forth I picked this pattern to work with since I liked it and I could envision it in this fabric.

I made good progress today. All I have left is to sew in the zipper (it is currently hand basted), arm facings, buttons, and the hem. I did make a boo boo that I did not catch until I had cut the pieces. The 2 front pieces I cut reversed – since I only need one of each I accidentally had them face down – thankfully I had both of them face down – so the dress works – just the front panels are reversed.This has been a very straightforward and easy pattern to follow.

Alterations to Pattern: The only change I made to this (so far) is on the side sides I started with a 5/8″ seam, tapered to 3/8″ at the hip line and then back to 5/8″. I may nip it in at the waist a little but – but will wait until it is done for that possible alteration. I also added under-stitching to the facing and serged all the edges before sewing.

butterrick-dress-030115

butterick4818-dress-cut1 butterick4818-dress-cut2 butterick4818-dress-cut3 butterick4818-dress-cutting

One thought on “Butterick 4818

  1. Pingback: 030115 – Got iced out | sagworks :: art everyday

Leave a comment